Interviews A Native of Texas, Tomkillsjerry Talks Beats

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
tom1000.jpg

Ever since he posted pictures of his setup, I figured tomkillsjerry was dedicated to making beats. With gear galore and dope lighting to compliment it, he recently won the Beat This! Competition by surpassing a tough lineup of competitors.

Let's find out more about him, shall we?

Okay so what's up with the name? As a kid I was a huge Tom and Jerry fan, so why do you think Tom kills Jerry?

Haha. Well, I wish I could say there was some grand deeper meaning behind it but I'm afraid not. When I first started making beats on my Galaxy s3 (yes, a cell phone) I started playing them for people. I was at a party one night and a friend of mine told me to play something so I did and this chick was all shitty and said "Oh you're a DJ ? Whats your DJ name Tom?" And I said in my most drunken state "tomkillsjerry" and people were like oh that's pretty dope and it stuck.

You won the Beat This! Competition recently, how did you put together the beat?

Man I was ridin high when I found out I won because I had just won 1st runner up on Indabas Artist of the month showcase. Then I saw I won the Beat This!, that was a pretty good week. That one was all started like most of my beat with a pad sound playing during the intro and throughout the track. Then I looped that chord progression and started playing in the drums on Maschine. I'll finger drum in a few variations of the main beat and then track it out and load it into my FL project. From there I'll start doing some sound design just filling in the holes I hear.