Always, I mean ALWAYS WITHOUT FAIL. Backup your work.

I have been making music for about 20+ years and it took me a long time to learn to backup my shit. I learned the hard way, I lost songs I had made that I would never be able to get back. This didnt only happen once, it happened three times before I got the message.

Last week I lost my main ssd, in the heat it just packed up. Same thing with my oldest backup device, just stopped working. Luckily, having learned the hard way, I had two backups and still have the vast majority of anything I ever made that matters to me.

My whole point of this post to both noob and experienced alike is ALWAYS backup your shit.
Dont learn the hard way like I did three times before it sunk in. Do it now.

thedreampolice

A backwards poet writes inverse.
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 21
Agreed, you can get backblaze for $5 a month and backup everything! I also spend $100 a year on dropbox and put everything on that. I can literally lose a whole computer and have everything back up and resyned in about a day. Thats not bad. I am going to have about 15k in to my next record so spending $160 a year to protect it all is a no brainier!

OGBama

Big Clit Energy
Agreed, you can get backblaze for $5 a month and backup everything! I also spend $100 a year on dropbox and put everything on that. I can literally lose a whole computer and have everything back up and resyned in about a day. Thats not bad. I am going to have about 15k in to my next record so spending $160 a year to protect it all is a no brainier!
Im weary of using online backup, too many data thieves, too many hacks.

What @2GooD Productions and @thedreampolice SSDs, etc. are you using for backup?