Getting started

B

Bobby Peru

I'm new to producing and the only thing I have going for me right now is my motivation. Now, when I say new, I really mean new...
What I want to know is where I should start off? I need a book or article explaining producing terms before I can fully understand alot of the articles on the net, what do you recommend that I read?

Also, what magazines are worth buying?
I've been skipping through a copy of Computer Music but it seems like it has a very broad selection of readers. Any magazines out with a somewhat more hip-hop orientated approach?

thanks,

Bob

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Wassup and welcome to IllMuzik.

It seems that there are a lot of people in the same position as you. Getting started is hard to do, but it's also exciting.

The best thing for you to do is to decide exactly what it is you want to do with producing. Do you want to be the next superstar producer? Do you want to make beats for underground heads? Decide this first.

Then just read a lot. A lot. You can go around and ask everyone for advice on how to make a beat, but there's only so much they can tell you. The best way to learn is on your own by practicing. No one ever showed me how to do any of this stuff. Same thing when I started DJ'ing, I learned it all my own, I didn't ask for any help.

Since you're just starting out, this is the right place. IllMuzik was basically made for people like you that are just getting into this game. It's also for those that have been doing this for years too. Browse around this site and soak up all the info. Then I would recommend going to the bookstore and getting a book on how to record at home. Something simple, not complex.

Nowadays there's so many options available to someone like you, it's hard to choose. I understand, but you must pick your spots carefully.