Im about to buy...

Bugsy

ILLIEN
Battle Points: 206
Im about to buy a Rane ttm56s second hand for $500 , was wondering if there is anything i should look out for before i finalize the deal..the guy says its brand new (but i wanted to make sure.)

is there anything that i need to check to make sure its legit?
is there anything at all that needs to be there or to guarantee that it wont fail on me after a week?
should i open the mixer up?

would definitely appreciate any feedback as im new to this. :D

thanks!

Pug

IllMuzik Mortician
ill o.g.
Hard to tell if shit is legit or not, unless there's some kind of serial number and way to track it. If he says it's brand new, ask him if he still has a receipt as proof.

It's hard to see if something will fail after a week. Unless you're an engineer, I wouldn't open the mixer unless you know what you're looking for. But check all the knobs, buttons, fader. If it's really 'brand new' you should feel the newness. If you can test it in an actual setup, that would be best. Check for bleeding and static, make sure the connections are good, all that stuff. If you're worried about it failing, just ask the guy for a two week period if it screws up or something that you can return it. 500$ is a lot of loot, so I wouldn't be shy to bring that up. Get it in writing, contract that shit.

Good luck!

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Ya, what @Pug said. If it's new, it should feel new. The main things I would check:
  • That it powers on.
  • There's no static/crackle in the faders or from any of the knobs.
  • No bleeding from the faders.

Maciek

If you consider live shows or anything what is including moving turntable from place to place, don't forget that stanton str-150 is heavy weight category (18 kg + case) and will give you free gym in this occasion.