Interviews Interview With Beat This! Champion Exel The Brain

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Check out what the August 13, 2003 Beat This! champ has to say about the MPC vs. Fruity Loops debate, his upcoming projects, and his winning beat.

Wassup, how you doin'?

Chillin man, taking a break from working on our album.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Aight. Well I'm 19, Hispanic from dirty Jerz, Ambush represent. I'm a college student with a passion for music.

How did you come up with your name?

My name started out as XL cause I'm a big dude, but I didn't wanna start no beef with Chino XL, so I changed it to Exel. The brain is something I added this year, just an a.k.a.

I thought it had something to do with the MPC! What sort of recording setup do you have?

I got an MPC2000 XL, turntable, Rode NT1 setup, and my laptop with Cool Edit.

I made that winning beat on Cool Edit before I got my MPC.

How do you like using a laptop for your productions? Do you come across any problems that you wouldn't have on a desktop PC?

Nah no problems really. As a matter of fact, I made some of my beats on the train ride back from school.

On the train! LOL, that's dope. When did you start producing? Do you also DJ or MC?

I started producing like 2 years ago and yeah I'm also an emcee. I started flowing 4 years ago, kind of new to this production shit.

Have you MC'd over any of your own beats? And do you think rapping is easier now that you're familiar with bars, and other production related stuff?

Yeah I'm producing our whole album and I'm also one of the emcees in the group. And yes rapping is definitely easier now that I'm familiar with bars - way easier.

I figured that, it's like being a DJ first before you produce, it helps a lot. Do you sample?

Yes sir. I prefer that sampled sound, just my taste dawg. I'm not hating on synth beats though, a hot beat is a hot beat.