Are producers only as good as his records/sound sources: trials of a crate digger

JPeg

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Ima make a few statements see if u feel this

A producer is only as good as his records/sound sources? One of the most important skills a producer can have is sound selection and composition.

If I give a producer some shit records with some cheesy cheap sounds even if he loads em up into the mpc they still gonna sound cheap, he might filter sounds and chop to come up with a good pattern but ultimately the source sounds will shine through and if they are of poor quality than the beat will sound wack.

Why am I thinking about this? cos ive been making beats for around 3 years now and have a vision of how I want my music to sound. I work with samples I have listened to many records in shops and on the net and its been very hit and miss. Some records and artists that I have identified as having the type of sounds i wanna sample i cant find here in London.

So how do i implement my vision? if i can find the right kind of sounds if i cant find the records im looking for that’s gonna impact the amount of inspiration i get when listening to the records and that in turn will effect the style and quality of my output.

Anyone feel what im saying or should i just being too rigid i mean im still finding alternatives here and there but r crate diggers defind the size of there collection and the records in there collection. When I 1st started diggin I neva wanted to be a dude who collects everything I just wanted a small stash of records that r interesting to listen to and have good sounds to sample, now its looking likely I may have to get a bigger collection of records with each record having only I or two sample worthy tracks or getting a synth.