Interviews Dacalion Interview

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
dacal.jpg

Sup Dac, tell everyone who you are and where you're from.

I was born and raised in Washington D.C. I went to college at NCA&TSU in Greensboro where I majored in Industrial Engineering. My parents decided to make North Carolina their home. After I graduated, I landed a job working for Lifetime Studio's in NYC. I stayed there for 2 years then moved back to NC. Now I live just outside of Ft. Bragg, NC.

Ft. Bragg? Are you some sort of Black Ops sniper guy?

When I moved back to NC, I got a job working for a Government Contractor designing torpedo tubes. One day I was asked to solve a problem dealing with the disposal of ballistic casings on military vehicles. I ended up developing an ammo dump that would efficiently catch rounds. I ended up selling the patent on that design to the government which brought me to Ft. Bragg... and NO, I didn't get rich from that (LOL).

What kind of setup do you have? From your videos and pictures it looks like it's stacked.

I'm a "gear freak", so I have two setups, one is mostly software and the other is mostly hardware. Lately I've been focusing more on digital music production but some days I prefer to be on my Technic 1210's and now that I have 3 Samplers (SP-404, MV-8800 and Maschine) I'm gonna start a rotation on them as well. It mainly depends on how I'm feeling at the time.

I noticed at first how you were anti-Maschine, what convinced you to buy one?

LOL, for the record, I wasn't anti-Maschine. I just wasn't gonna jump on the bandwagon because everybody else did, but I gotta admit peer pressure was a factor. I was very content using my MV-8800 and my SP-404, plus my workflow is pretty lean as it is. I like experimenting though and Native Instruments' commitment to Maschine has been outstanding. I've never seen a company work so hard on one single product before. That's impressive and worthy of a try.