Diggin 4 Beats

KEV31

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 4
Now i've seen some of the previous topics on breaks, and i don't think my questions apply to those. I was watching the documentary on diggin and somebody mentioned the drummer for james brown ( i cant think of his name right now). Anyway, i wanted to know if some drummers for singers put out some albums of there own because they probably have some nice breaks. also if you could think of some musicians that played in bands and could have made a solo album.

I'm very new to diggin, so i got alot to learn.

sYgMa

Making head bangers!!!
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 26
...Basically, you want to find a album of drums, strictly drums... right?

Actual digging is finding good breaks in existing songs and cutting/rearranging the part you wanna use...

for solo percussions (not always drums) you can look for Norio Fukushi and Toshi Ichiyanagi albums... there are a lot of others, but, my advice would be to look for breaks in existing songs.

GRAFIK

Vinyl Addict
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 1
yeah basically, thats what you have to do, is maybe find some old rock records and search through the songs until its just a solo drummer, and cut up those pieces, kick, snare, hats, cymbal, etc. and rearrange it so that it fits you. I know there are records you can buy that have strickly breaks on them, but they have been used way too much. Although i'm sure there are albums of just drummers, but i haven't come across any yet

5th Sequence

Hip Hop Head, Certified
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 198
Thats an interesting avenue you're talking about. Looking for the drummer that made the funky break to see if he's released any of his own albums? Cool concept i've never thought of that before. Might be some extra work but in the digging world what isn't lol. Even if you find an album released by say the drummer, it most likely wont be just drum loops or anything close to that.

E

evolveone