I have no idea what I am doing....

Gator

Hey! Very VERY new to this stuff. I have a background in playing guitar and singing in different bands from rock/pop punk/alternative to death metal. Never formally trained just self taught. I dabbled in hip hop/rap a while back just making raps to beats I found mainly making fun of people I didn't like.

Now I am actually attempting to make some beats of my own. I run into issues with not knowing if something is too simple or repetitive. It is hard for me to visualize because I have never perused this genre. I mean, it sounds good to my ear but I am more interested to hear how others feel about them and if they appeal to artists.

I am here to get pointers and honest opinions on on my creations. I have not made any full songs yet. More so just putting together hooks and only have about 8-10 that I have started. I have arranged some of them into ~1min clips but I don't think it is anything to showcase by any means. Here to learn and get input. Any and all criticism welcome.

Start off with showcase forum is there a better section to achieve results? I know a rule is giving input on other's tracks but not sure how much depth I can offer there :)

Gator

Hi Gator,

Welcome to Ill! :D

We have similar background as I also started from guitar playing. :) Take your time and post as much of your stuff in showcase, particpate in battles also message people whose beats you like and I am sure that you will get a proper help and advice that you can use to improve yourself ;)

Wish you a happy journey :)

I am glad you said this. I actually was creeping on a battle (warzone), I believe it was the last one or maybe the one just before that. There was a beat that I really like BUT I cannot find the bracket. Is this information stored or lost after the next contest is ready to start? If it is any help, I think the beat made bronze (maybe silver).

@crosstevsky, thank you for the welcome!