Interviews Interview With Beat This! Champion BigD

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
bigd1.gif

BigD is one of our premier members. He has been around for a while, constantly contributing, debating and helping other members. Since he won our latest Beat This! Battle (80's theme), I figured out that it's the perfect timing for an interview.

Holla @ ya BigD, wassup? Congratulations on winning Beat This! Way to go!

Thanks, I've been tryin' to win one of these things for awhile. I used to be in the ones at Alphabeats all the time about 3 or 4 years ago.

Please tell us about yourself; who's the man behind the internet mask?

I am first a musician, I was formally trained on Sax & Drums... but I taught myself keys, playing in different live bands around DC, Maryland and Virginia where I am from. I just turned 29 OMG so I have seen a lot of Hip-Hop, I am a veteran to production for streets and underground though I have been producing for at least 6 years, I do other genres too, we won't go into right now though! LOL.

Why BigD? Does it mean anything special? (I've always wondered LOL)?

My first name begins with a D... hehe plus I weigh in at about 245... so that's where it came from.

What's your recipe for making killer beats? You really got that magical touch - your beats are quite simple (mostly loop-based) but they are addictive and infectious!

Well I really grew up listening to Wu Tang and RZA based production along with Primo... so they stay true to vinyl for underground and stay close to loops without making things too hard for an MC. I start off with a drum pattern, then I either add strings and some kind of melody then the bass... it depends.

bigd2.gif

What's your setup like? Software vs. Hardware.