Interviews Interview With Beat This! Champion Mercury Waters

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
mercurywaters1.jpg

Known around here for his production and lyrical skills, Mercury Waters came through and won the July Beat This! Competition, in the remix theme. Read on...

Hey Merc, what up? Congratulations on winning the Beat This!

What's up Wings! Thanks man. I didn't see it coming at all!

Please tell us about yourself.

My name is Chris Richardson. I was born and grew up in and around Washington, D.C., but I live in Baltimore, MD now. I'm 25 years old, and have been married to my beautiful wife Jackie for almost 2 years now. We have two boys Xavier and Miles. I'm actually a chef by trade but I'm blessed to be a "house-husband" at this point and time.

mercurywaters2.jpg

For those who don't know, Mercury Waters is both a great producer and an incredible emcee. Merc, which one do you enjoy the most (be honest)?

Really, it just depends on my disposition for the day. I like them both equally, but I tend to go thru moods. It may be a week or two where I focus mainly on making beats and the next couple of weeks I'm into writing songs more.

What's your setup like? Do you prefer hardware over software?

I definitely prefer hardware. It's just what's more comfortable to me. I learned how to make music on hardware pieces and I've grown too attached to that style of production to really feel comfortable with anything else. My current setup I use has the Ensoniq Asr-X Pro as the main piece for beat creation. I track everything into a Korg D1600 digital recorder/mixer and add vocals through an Oktava MK-319 large diaphragm condenser microphone.

mercurywaters3.jpg

How long have you been involved with music, and who/what got you into it in the first place?