Keys and Chord Progressions

A

AdsumDrive

Hey all... first post here..
First I wanted to say.. props to Fade for making this site.. it's crazy and full of useful info.. thanks man!!

So.. I'm fairly new to music, but I am figuring out some of the basics..
Some things I do have trouble with .. is "hearing" things and recognizing them..

For example.. what keys are used in most hip hop today?? I'm assuming that most club type beats and stuff use the major keys, to give them a happy feel.. but are any used more than most?

Also.. are basic chord progressions used in hip hop? Like some I know are things like I-IV-V or I-VI-IV-V-I etc, etc... in a lot of hip hop.. i hear the same type of phrase repeated over and over, but can't really tell if it's the same chord or not... any thoughts?

I would love it if someone could give me an example of a song that's out there and talk about the key it's in and the chord progressions that are used... just trying to get an idea of where to get started as far as getting ideas for my own stuff...

Thanks in advance!
peace

afriquedeluxe

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 221
my man classic should be able to help out. ill tell u this tho, most hiphop or rnb producers make beats by the ear, theres not many that sit down and say okay am gona use a i-iv-v progression. not to say thats it bad to use it, but that kind of stuff i feel kind of limits your creativity. just use those rules as guidelines but dont just stick to them cuz theyll hold u back

A

AdsumDrive

afriquedeluxe said:
my man classic should be able to help out. ill tell u this tho, most hiphop or rnb producers make beats by the ear, theres not many that sit down and say okay am gona use a i-iv-v progression. not to say thats it bad to use it, but that kind of stuff i feel kind of limits your creativity. just use those rules as guidelines but dont just stick to them cuz theyll hold u back

Hey Afrique...