makin money with music

R

rise9

First off, I'd like to thank God for the insight he has shed on us on how things came to be, and the classifications of the 2 target markets majors look to feed with this mass frenzy of music pumpin. It puts things in perspective when you're looking for a career in this business. And for those who are, this post is for you.

I want to address the different ways artists can make money in this business, both creatively and business wise. We all gotta eat, and i don't know about you, but i wanna make money doin what i love, which is producin, makin beats, and later on run my own record label.

I'm fairly new in the biz, and i got a little education on the basics of this business, and the one thing i learned is that "the more i know, the more i realize i know nothing".

This business is very intricate, with legal implications in just about every inch u take. But we won't go there today. I would like to hear from cats in this forum, how they manage on the daily, and what ideas they have for makin a successfull career for themselves in this biz. Thats off course if thats what u want for yourself.

Some of the ideas i've been running through are:

1. Targeting artists themselves, letting them do the label bidding
2. Remixes
3. Doing tv scores
4. Getting a job in the music business, like promoting, or being a publicist, artist manager, retailer, setting up a small record shop, online media outlet
5. Creating a urban marketing company to target major corporations.
6. Creating street team to promote clubs and venues - eg. promoting again.
7. Studio time rentals - meaning u gotta have one worthy to charge
8. Artist web design
9. ...

Hit me back with some ideas. For any seasoned veterans in here, your input would be greatly valued for all us newcomers to the scene. We all gotta eat right...

Haze47

THE URBAN ARCHEOLOGIST
ill o.g.
BTW I AM NOT A SEASONED VETERAN........