Father Timeless
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 44
done and spreaded

hanayalator

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 11
I know there will be some drawbacks to this bill, but don't you think it'll be beneficial to artists? As an artist myself I know that it would be very nice to get paid for radio performances, even if the label gets a cut.

H

dacalion

Hands Of FIRE!
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 259
Not at the price of losing the radio stations that would play your music. Its one of those double edge sword type deals in a sense. On one hand you make money but in doing so, you kill your #1 source of advertisement. There are ways that both parties can exist and be profitable. I think that is whats gonna eventually happen. I don't believe the current bill will pass though. Right now its free advertisement for free play, if the performance tax passes, the radio stations could counter it with charging record labels and artist to play their music. So its a no-win situation IMO.

7thangel

7th Angel of Armageddon
ill o.g.
it's funny, canada and i believe australia have something similar, where artist and musicians that didn't write or compose the song that's getting rinsed out of style on radio get royalties, lower than composers/writers and provided they join the specific p.r.o., and none of the radio stations are suffering. advertising is what determines their viability and radio has been expensive from jump, which is why they're losing some revenue.

maybe the states will be different, but keep in mind the the radio station lobby/broadcasting lobby, like the telecommunications lobby, are powerful, and aren't anymore trustworthy than the riaa, even less so.

dacalion

Hands Of FIRE!
ill o.g.