Few Thoughts on Making a Living as an engineer/producer

Step Soprano

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
First of all, let me say I'm no expert and I'm far from rich or famous lol, but I had the opportunity to learn from a major entertainment lawyer in atlanta about how to make money as a producer/engineer(not relevant to the artists/vocalists/rappers etc, but still good to know). First thing he said was do not waste your time doing beats/mixing for people because they promised you "points" on the album. Just assume those points will NEVER come. Instead, charge an upfront fee every time, and if you DO work for free and or a discounted rate, make sure you are compensated with a percentage of the copyright/publishing. Most producers don't realize that even if you are fortunate enough to produce half of the songs on a gold album, and are to receive the common 3% figure on total album sales, without owning the atleast some of the publishing, you will make less than your average middle school teacher. 500,000 albums sold at 17.99 +/- may seem like it's netting you roughly 138,000 at 3% of the artists money(the majors don't pay you out of their pocket, they pay you out of the artists earnings, and unfortunately, the artist is payed last, save for the superstars). However, after all the bullshit that the labels take out(mid level sales, lower level sales, digital sales, reproduction costs, foreign sales, promotion, returned inventory, the list goes on) you would probably end up with about 28-30,000. That's if you have a lawyer representing you. Which means you can take another 15% off of that, and likewise if you have a separate manager. The key is to network and diversify on all types of projects and industries involving sound. Currently I'm working on a comedy album for a comedian in Atlanta, and making more money than I am recording rappers right now. Also doing the over dubbing for a movie filming summer of 2011. Not only do they pay me more than recording rappers/singers, the shit is W