Interviews 5th Sequence

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
5th Sequence recently won our Beat This! Competition, kicking off 2008 with his first ever win. A member since 2005, 5th is a regular here at IllMuzik, and we finally got the chance to ask him about his beats, and of course his Beat This! win.

5thsequence1.jpg

Sup 5th, tell everyone who you are.

What's up, I'm 5th Sequence. Basically, I'm one of the biggest fans of hip hop you'll ever meet. All aspects of it, I embrace it all and let it inspire me. I'm a hip hop producer (not just beatmaker) and do a little bit of everything. I still graff, bboy and DJ. I've been rapping since I started producing as well. I'm also pretty deep into the social and cultural issues in hip hop and I would definitely say I'm trying to be progressive with everything I try to do.

When did you first start making beats?

I first started making beats when I was 10 or 11 (I'm 20 now). It all started at a friend's house with some demo version of Hip Hop Ejay we were messing with. It was something so new and unique, it was the greatest feeling ever playing back and hearing what we made. Ever since then I just wanted more control over the sounds to see where I could take things. It's been a large part of my life because I was so engrossed and fascinated with making music that I pursued it aggressively at a young age.

What was your first piece of gear?

My very first piece of gear was a DR 202 Dr. Groove drum machine. That thing was the shit!! Although I honestly didn't make anything worth even recording out of that thing it was the learning experience itself that was still valuable. Even though I had the DR 202 I was using Fruity Loops once I was 12 or 13 and have been using it along side all of the different hardware setups I've had. (I've had a full hardware setup with an MPC 2000XL, MP-7 command station and MIDI keyboard).

5thsequence2.jpg

What made you want to make music?