adding more melodies

PrOLifiK

Wax Fondling Since 420
ill o.g.
This is a hard q;s to explain I was trying to find a good song example if I do ill post it on here, and I feel like this is what my tracks are lacking. I can make a nice melody with whatever sound but how do I add other melodies so that it sounds like it fits together. What is this called....is it chord progression?? Im trying to learn to play the piano/keyboard but my oxgen 8 makes it hard with its limited amt of keys. How did u guys learn this cuz I know someone out there has this sam problem

J Cro

Hulkamaniac
ill o.g.
im pretty sure u not only need a sound that compliments the sound your already using. but you probably need to write your accompaning melody in the same key and scale and all that.

sorry for lack of a completly str8 forward answer. im still learning this shit myself.

nonie

Kohie
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 4
Yeah, Lawtown has the right idea. Just mess around with the keys in that same range and once you find that hot spot see how it sounds with the original melody you composed. What I usually do is let loop a pattern, set that tone, and then get into it and then jam out on the keys until I find something that goes nicely with the main melody.

Check this out too https://www.illmuzik.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12099

It might help some.

MarkN

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 55
this is a pain in the ass lol im a sampler for the most part but after lots of persuading from everyone ive started to learn music theory and learn to play the piano its hard work but the benefits are good its just practice just practice adding melodys learn wot works and doesnt theres no easy way just keep trying im doing the same thing at the moment !

classic

I am proud to be southern
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 90
PrOLifiK said:
What is this called....is it chord progression??

Nahh What your talking about is called harmony or counter melodoy....