Interviews BGrimm

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
bgrimm1-268x300.jpg

B.Grimm is an emcee from New Jersey, I've had the pleasure to collaborate with him on several occasions. He's recently released an album 'Everything Happens'. Now let's hear what he has to say.

Wattup B.grimm?

Same old thing. Just tryin' to stay on the grind.

Could you please briefly introduce yourself?

I'm an underground emcee from Northern New Jersey. My group affiliations include 'Grimm & Stress' and 'The Fantazmic 4'. I'm an independent artist, but I have ties to 'Last Son Productions' as well as the Salt Lake City based 'Penalty Box Recordings'.

When did you start emceeing?

I started writin' way back in '91, but I didn't really start recording and takin' it more seriously until around 2000. At that time, I recorded an album with a rock/rap hybrid band called 'X-Breed'. I left that band in 2002 to really start focusing on hip hop, and to refine my skills as an emcee.

How would you describe your style? I've noticed your lyrics tend to be dark and emotional, would that be a fair description?

Dark and emotional is fair, but I would describe my style as 'real'. I know it sounds a little cliche, but I always try to keep my music as real as I can. And lately, that reality has been dark and emotional.

Who are your main influences? Since you're from New Jersey, were you a big fan of the Redmans, Artifacts, LOTUGS and all the local acts back in the 90's?

And don't forget Naughty by Nature. I'm a huge fan of all of those artists, but I was more influenced by the likes of Slick Rick, A Tribe Called Quest, Black Sheep, Nice & Smooth, Pete Rock & CL Smooth and Brand Nubian, just to name a few. I would say that A Tribe Called Quest's album, "The Low End Theory", was what actually made me want to be an emcee.

everythinghappens_cover1-300x295.jpg

You have recently released an album entitled "Everything Happens", could you please tell us about it?