Interviews Fade Interview

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Who is Fade? He's Illmuzik's founder and administrator and unless you're a complete newb you should know that already! I caught up with him and we talked about the site in general, Montreal Hip Hop and more.

Wattup Fade?

Chilling and living.

You're from Montreal but where did you grow up within the city?

All over the place. My family moved around a lot, who knows why, so I was in different parts of the city and even in other provinces.

How was the Hip Hop scene there in the 80's and 90's? Does the (French/English) language divide also occur in Montreal Hip Hop?

In the 80's I can't say how the scene was because I was still young and for me just being able to buy a rap cassette was amazing. In the 90's though, wow that was the era. The scene was crazy, lots of rappers, A LOT of DJ's, producers were starting to make their mark too. Everyone in the scene knew each other pretty much but it was still not as tight-knit as Toronto where it seemed (at least from my eyes) like everyone helped one another. So maybe the language issue here played into that, I'm not sure.

When did you start deejaying/producing? Who were your main influences back then?

I first started DJ'ing back in 1996 but actually tried my hand at it around 1992! I had a pair of Gemini belt-drive turntables but I didn't know enough about it and plus I also had other interests so I never pursued it until '96. I loved watching the DMC battles and since Montreal had such a hot DJ scene, how could I not get into it? It was just all over the place so within 2 years I was competing in the DMC, plus I also entered a few other battles but they never happened for me because either the battle was canceled or I couldn't make it.

My DJ influences were of course the Skratch Piklz, X-Men and basically everyone that I ever witnessed, good and bad, especially the local guys. Just seeing a scratch DJ live is something truly special.