How much do Video Game Musicians get paid?

yungboss

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 1
Just wondering since a lot of people suggest my beats sound like video game instrumentals. Should this be an insult or a complement?

Shonsteez

Gurpologist
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 33
Honestly man, the majority of people who say that sorta thing to you are simply coming to that conclusion because of the sounds your using most likely. I bet if you chose more organic sounds to play with in your beats you would rarely ever hear that.

When I first started out in 2000 I had cats tellin me the same exact thing because I used a lot of really old school sounding synth modules. Later I started playing with samples and more organic sound choices like Rhodes, Strings, etc. and I never heard a comment about my music like that again.

Food for thought anyways.

But if you actually are interested in Game Audio - theres a ton of money to be made in that trade. One downfall though...You typically will have to do much much more then just make the beats/music for video games when your the composer. Most Game Audio guys have to know programming languages such as C++ as well.

yungboss

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 1
Damn......so I have to learn a computer language to be able to format my music into a video game? That's to much....umma have to try working with better sounds..

A lot of down south music have Sythesized sounds and they dont sound like Video Game instrumentals. What's the difference between them and me?

Shonsteez

Gurpologist
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 33