Interviews Interview With New Jersey Crew 98 Proof

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
98proof_big.jpg

As most of ya'll cats know, I don't just listen to the "Run of the Mill" Hip-Hop. So when Fade asked me to check out 98 Proof, I jumped on the chance as soon as I listened to a few joints from the label. As an Emcee and Producer, I know both aspects of the game. If there is one thing I'm not familiar with is running my own independent label and focusing on just my artists. This brings me to Nick Ditri aka DJ Picklz, CEO and executive producer of 98Proof Recordings.

So tell me how you got started out in Hip-Hop and how 98 Proof came about?

Back in 1998 I got into DJing parties and what not so that's where I really got heavy into Hip-Hop and creating my own mixes. I was always a songwriter since I was about 10 but it wasn't until I was about 15 that I started making Hip-Hop tracks. Once that happened, it all was a snowball effect.

As far as producing, what methods and what do you use in the studio? (As in hardware or software).

My main device is the Korg Triton, that's the monster of all monsters to me at least. I feel the MPC but as a musician I need the piano keys of course. It gives me the versatility I need to cut sample off vinyl then harmonize that sample with live instruments. I also use Reason here and there alongside of my Alesis QS 6.2 Synth. I'm big into EQ's and changing the frequencies on sounds to give the patch a totally different vibe from its original flavor.

From listening to your artists on your roster, obviously your focus is on the East Coast Underground level. What do you feel about the current "Duurty South Crunk Style" that has currently taken over the mainstream?