Is your fav producer no longer your favorite?

nobodyfamous

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
Ok, once upon a time when I started producing almost 3 years ago The Neptunes were my favorite producers (i know a lot of you hate them) but now, I am my favorite producer! But, now that I have some knowledge of music, things like drum programming, music theory, chords, etc. the neps just don't do it for me any more, i even hear them getttin comfortable (which is like the downfall of n e thing great) I listen to "Change Clothes" for example, the one note bassline and simple piano progression is really crap! I know what they are capable of, i.e. the whole n.e.r.d. cd which had amazing production and a few others, but basically, they are no longer my fav. do you think this happens b/c we are getting better and realize whats going on or maybe because we just get tired of them?

mercurywaters

hip hop in the flesh
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 32
i think in the commercial music industry they want hits. they don't care if its the same sound as your last hit as long as its a hit. in the end the 'artist' chooses the beat. if everyone asks for the same then thats what you provide. i'm sure the neptunes have a variety of music, but if everyone wants a pop hit, then thats what they make.

primo was one of my fav producers but everyone goes to him for the same type of beats. hard drums chopped sample. headnodder. i remember primo from gang star days and jeru albums. it was a variety of sounds he could produce. i guess with popularity comes redundancy.

soundboy2

ILLIEN
ill o.g.
The general public prefers simplicity, women don't know any thing about chord progression, That N.E.R.D was probally their worst selling project. Plus when you got Jay rapping, you don't much.
I bet you the Neptunes got a vault of some lovely stuff that they listen to for themselves That they know wouldn't be a "hit" in the commercial realm.