Interviews Kil

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Kil, a producer from Philadelphia, has been putting it down since the 80's and has been keeping busy by working with many artists, including MOP, which carries a very interesting story along with it.

kil.jpg

Sup Kil, tell us a bit about yourself.

Well... I'm a music producer from Philly but I'm living in Maryland right now. Been married for 10 years and have a beautiful daughter named Naomi. I went to Morgan State in Baltimore, Maryland and while I was there I hosted WEAA 88.9's hip hop show Strictly Hip Hop for 7 years which was a REAL dope experience. Right now I work for a nonprofit outta Washington DC called LifeSTARTS Youth and Family Services. We put together programs for youth and their families in Washington DC.

So you started writing rhymes in '84?!!?

LOL... I TRIED to start rhyming back in '84 when I was 10, after seeing Beat Street I knew I wanted in this hip hop game somehow so rhyming was the only thing you didn't need any money to do, so I tried my hand at that first but I wasn't too good at it. Maybe at the time I was nice but as rhyming began to get more lyrical, I knew rhyming wasn't my calling... LOL.

You were also a DJ back in the day, were you more into mixing, scratching, or just whatever?