Live Sound, I need suggestions...

dacalion

Hands Of FIRE!
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 259
I need suggestions, heres the deal...Im new to doing live sound but I know how to create a good solid sound from all my studio work.

The owner of the venue wants me to help with a full band...a keyboard, lead guitar, 2nd guitar, bass guitar, saxophone and drums.

Heres the problem...

The keyboardist wants to be the loudest of them all. We have given him the range that his volume should be set on his keyboard but during live sets but he continues to readjust it and it throws the overall sound off. He says he cant hear his monitors but his monitors are so loud that I can hear them at the soundboard (about 60ft away) with ease.

I have control over the keyboardists monitors at the mixingboard and everone else uses powered monitors.

The drummer is new to performing at live sets and he too has volume issues because he's not acustomed to mic'd drums.

Both guitars are good and stay in the pocket.

The saxophonist pretty much freestyles very well but every now and then, clashes with the guitars. Not often but just enough to be annoying.

The gear is all top of the line...32 channel mixing board, compressors, separate high/mid/low amps, speakers, crossover and eq's.

My question...as an outside entity to this band how do I help these guys who are stuck in their ways achieve a balanced sound without disrupting their flow/ attitudes?

LDB

Banned
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 73
Balancing the overall sound is your job. Keep doing it! The drummer will eventually get it....there's not too much you can do with them because they're new to performing live, you just have to ride the fader on them. I'd put the keyboard player that obviously has some hearing problems on a system to where if he/she is wearing an ear plug! That is done in live concerts all the time. Put them thru a amp with an earphone jack so they can no longer complain that they can't hear what they're playing!