My first MAJOR engineering session!!

djswivel

Producer Extraordinaire
ill o.g.
This is copied from my blog on myspace I just finished writing....

So, it's just about 5am, and I just got home from my first official recording session as an engineer. I've been assisting session for several months now with some major names, but this time I engineered it myself!! Now I can OFFICIALLY add engineer to my title on top of Producer and DJ!! (Tehcnically yesterday was my first engineering session, with a new R&B singer named Lee Carr, but I'm not counting it because I sort of took over from Duro mid-way through the song, and then Duro was in the room for part of the time just looking over making sure I have a handle on things and don't make any major screw ups. Luckily I didn't lol) Anyways, back to my first SOLO session!

It was with a new artist signed to Kanye West's record label GOOD Music. His name is Consequence. He's a Grammy-winning rapper featured on both of Kanye Wests albums. His shit is straight fire! Very lyrical, witty, and his flow is just crazy! He's actually extremely talented. He sort of reminds me of the way Jay-Z records. He didn't write anything down, just sort of got in the booth, started mumbling some lines, and when he was ready he just said hit record, and there it was!

Anyways, the session was pretty smooth, no problems at all. The track is tentatively titled "Whatever Then" so watch out for it when his album drops this summer! And by the way, this will likely be my first official credit so when the album drops, GO OUT AND BUY IT SO I CAN HANG A PLATINUM PLAQUE ON MY WALL! hehehe

Anyways, today was a pretty good day at the studio to say the least. Of course I'll be keeping you all up to date with what else is going on production-wise, and really just career-wise. Well it's really late now, so I need some sleep, another long day at the studio tomorrow I'm sure! Peace!

Swivel

Producer_GyaL

IllMuzik First Lady
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 182