NEW on Ill...Tracking out beats??

• beat this! voting starts in...
ill o.g.
Hey, i'm new to illmuzik. just wanted to ask a question. i just recently got into producing music and i've seen people selling beats online "tracked out". what is this exactly? and how is it done? i'm using FL studio right now to create and i'm going to get into recording songs. i'll either use adobe audition or try and learn pro tools. i've always used audition, any input on which would be better to spend the time on learning?

i know tracked out is each instrument is done separately. would that be making an mp3 of each instrument in fl studio? then bringing each one into audition/pro tools and then recording the lyrics in there as well?

thanks,
Josh

myspace.com/jmillermuzik

Shonsteez

Gurpologist
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 33
Hey Shutter, welcome to the site.
First, you dont want to bounce your tracks to mp3 and then mix compressed audio together which will in turn be more compressed later since this will result in a loss of quality, so make sure to bounce your tracks out at at least 16/44.1 in wav or aiff format.

If your using FL to create your beats, then you will basically need to mute each track or solo the one your bouncing, and do one at a time until all of your tracks have been rendered out.

*I dont use FL but if that program has a batch export for each track I would look into that as well. However, keep in mind that features such as batch exporting usually have their faults as well such as reducing the tracks audio to the raw wave form rather then allowing any processing such as compression, etc. that exists on that track to be rendered with the audio when the tracks are bounced out.

Also, try to make sure and bypass any limiting on the master buss if your tracking out your beat to be mixed later inside your DAW since you will most likely be applying similar processing once again at the master buss once your final mix is done.