Interviews Orpheus - Part 2

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
With beats sounding fresh out the frying pan, we get an inside look at what's on the menu from the Head Chef himself, Orpheus a.k.a. Cook Classics.... BAM!

orpheus_b2.jpg

Thanks for taking the time out to sit down with us man. For those out there that don't know, please tell us, who is Cook Classics?

I'm a creative person. More specifically I'm a producer, but I like art in all forms. Some people call me Cook, some call me Will, and some call me Cook Classics, which is weird because that's the name of my production company. It's like calling Bill Gates, Microsoft. I work mostly with Hip-Hop, Soul, R&B, and Pop, but I've been getting into some electronic music and some "progressive" work as well.

What type of production equipment are you using at the moment?

I use a Roland MV-8000 at the base of almost everything. I do my skeleton tracks on there. I use Pro Tools primarily for mixing, sequencing, and some production. I just got Reason 4.0 so I use that when I travel, and I also have a Roland Juno-60 (analogue synth) that I love. Just to geek out for a second, I have four API preamps, an API lunchbox with Purple Audio compressors, a dbx compressor, a digital effects rack, and about 5 mics that I use to record all kinds of sounds.

orpheus_b3.jpg

Can you give us a quick rundown of your process for creating a beat? Is there a certain formula you use when going into the lab?