Interviews The DreamPolice

Fade

The Beat Strangler
Administrator
illest o.g.
Known for his many articles published in various magazines, and for always helping out with the technical side of things in our forums, thedreampolice takes a timeout to answer a few of our questions.

thedreampolice.jpg

Sup, how's it going?:

Sup? Life right now is extremely busy!

What's up with the name "dreampolice"? Where does that come from?

Ha ha. The dreampolice name was born around 1996. As I was trying to get a hotmail account, (all the variations of "Chris" I could think of were taken) a Cheap Trick video on MTV caught my attention that day, so out of frustration I typed in "thedreampolice." It is now my handle for most of my accounts. However, my solo music is mainly under Chris Scheidies or Drunk Pedestrians.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

The cliff notes version: Played bass/guitar full-time on the road for about six years. Next few years I was a full-time studio engineer (horrible hours, BTW.) Then, I entered the tech. industry. Sweetwater Sound was my gig up until October. I've had numerous articles published in Prorec.com, Premiere Guitar, Sonic State, the late OGM, etc. My music has been licensed internationally for TV commercials, Indie films, and Internet commercials. Business and entrepreneurship is definitely a passion of mine, as well. My education is through the Berklee College of Music in music production and technology.

How would you describe your music?

I generally like less than perfect sounds. The White Stripes are a perfect example - very organic and almost broken sounding. My music is gritty and raw, no matter what genre I am working in, the production work usually reflects that. It's no wonder I don't get asked to record many orchestras. :)

How often do you make beats?

Depends on what other projects I am working on. I try and do at least 2-3 a week, usually on the weekends, and then get them on a TV spot or to and emcee.