Your Favorite (Non-Hiphop) Producers

Royal

Tha RENEGADE
ill o.g.
Howdy folks, I ain't been here in a while so I'm tryin' to get my feet wet again by asking a pretty basic question. What are ya'lls favorite non-hiphop producers?

I ask because lately I've been off listening to lots of different styles and genres of music just to get a feel for how they make music. ( I figure I know hip hop production pretty well, but i always wanted to know how to produce a good rock song/album.) One of my favorite non-hip hop producers is Jon Brion.

For all of you who are unfamiliar with Mr. Brion's work, I'll put it as simple as possible. The dude is BRILLIANT! From what I hear he's pretty much a self-taught musician. He can sing, he can write and he plays mulitple instruments. He's responsible for producing such artists as Aimee Mann (on the albums "I'm With Stupid" and "Whatever") and Fiona Apple (on her album "When the Pawn Hits..." and 2 joints on the album "Extraordinary Machine"...which is hella dope!), scored songs on movies such as I Heart Huckabees, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and was nominated for a Grammy for Magnolia.

He is recently credited for co-producing everything on Kanye's new album Late Registration (which kinda goes against my whole "non-hip hop" thing, but who cares?!) and gave him a fresh and musical new sound. If you ain't heard of this dude, you should check him out.

Well, I've said enough about this dude, I wanna hear from you guys. Who are ya'll favorite non-hip hop producers?

-Roy

andreas

Iller Than Most
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 3
I'd say:
Michael Nyman
Howard Shore
James Newton Howard
Marco Beltrami
Danny Elfman

Those are all cinematic score composers. Those are the musicians I hold the highest respect for of all.

bigdmakintrax

BeatKreatoR
ill o.g.
Battle Points: 123